Knockraha I.C.A

Knockraha I.C.A. was originally formed in 1949. The meetings were held in the school at the time having got premission from Canon O’Leary. Present at this meeting was Miss Judge from Inniscarra and the following officers were elected Secretary Helen Gleeson, President Elsie O’Donoghue, Treasurer Ina O’Doherty. The local IFA contributed in helping them get started. During their reign they done many different kinds of crafts. They also held a card drive. Cannon O’Leary helped with the running of this The guild lasted 5 or 6 years There is no trace of any records of that period.

In 1979 Margaret O,Sullivan of Ballingohig now deceased approached Mary Murphy Coolguerisk asking her to join Watergrasshill. Mary’s reaction was why not start one in knockraha. 42 members attended this first meeting. The firsr officers were Secretary Margaret O’Sullivan, President Mary Murphy abd Treasurer Sarah Hickey. That first year there was a membership of 71. Little was know about I.C.A. in Knockraha. They went through a learning process taking part in many competitions. Down through the years a lot of money have been raised for charity. This year it was for Marymount and Muscular Dystraphy. For the past number of years Noreen Gleeson from Maryville who is our local art teacher have been giving art classes in The Community Centre every Wednesday and Thursday night. The guild have held many art exhibitions in the hall as well as John Barleycorn Hotel Riverstown which is no longer exists. In 2003 when St Mary’s Church in Knockraha was 200 years old we held an art exhibition in the church. The guild also made two alter cloths which are being used on the alter today.
In 2008 the guild was 30 years since it reformation and a back drop for the Community Centre was made. A lot of time went into this but a great time was had by all. This was unveiled on the 20th November 2009 to coinside with the Silver Jubillee of the reconstruction of the Church. At the momemt the guild are making blankets for children in the third world countries. Where these are going has yet to be decided.


The current officers are President Kathleen Dillon, Secretary Mary O’Brien, Treasurer Nancy Hogan, PRO Sheila Fitzgerald and Craft Promoter Margaret Mason. The guild meet the first Wednesday of every month from September to June at 8pm in the Community Centre and sometimes have a guest speaker.We would welcome any new members.
(From Left to Right) Mary Hollond, Mary P. Murphy, Eileen Cremin, Noreen O’Connell, Maria O’Callaghan, Teresa Riordan, Bishop John Buckley, Kathleen O’Brien, Nancy Hogan (Treasurer), Mary O’Brien (Secretary), Eileen Mulcahy, Agnes Kelleher, Josephine Barry, Sheila Fitzgerald (PRO), Joan O’Donoghue, Margaret Mason (Craft Promoter) and Kathleen Dillon (President)